Honors & Awards

Katerina Akassoglou, PhD

  • Vilcek Prize for Creative Promise in Biomedical Research, finalist (2009)
  • John J. Abel Award in Pharmacology (2008)
  • Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE), Executive Office of the President of the United States (2007)
  • International Fibrinogen Society (2006)
  • International Society for Neurochemistry (2002)
  • International Society for Fibrinolysis and Proteolysis (2000)
  • Human Frontier Science Program fellow (1999)
  • Women in Neuroimmunology Award, International Society of Neuroimmunology (1998)
  • European League Against Rheumatism (1998)

Steve Finkbeiner, MD, PhD

  • Award for Outstanding Research Achievement, Nature Biotechnology (2011)
  • UCSF Annual Outstanding Faculty Mentorship Award, Graduate Student Association, University of California, San Francisco (2008)
  • Distinguished Leadership Award, Huntington’s Disease Society of America, (2008)
  • Taube Prize for Outstanding Work in Huntington’s Disease (2005)
  • Therapeutics Initiative Award, Huntington’s Disease Society of America (2005)
  • Lieberman Award for Outstanding Work on Huntington’s Disease (2005)
  • Klingenstein Award in Neuroscience (2001)
  • W.M. Keck Research Excellence Award (2001)
  • Charles E. Culpepper Medical Scholar Award (1999)

Li Gan, PhD

  • Glenn Award for Biological Mechanisms of Aging (2010)
  • Hellman Family Award, University of California, San Francisco (2007)

Yadong Huang, MD, PhD

  • Young Investigator Award for Scientific Excellence, International Society for Aterosclerosis Research (2000)
  • Young Investigator Award, XII International Symposium on Drugs Affecting Lipid Metabolism (1996)
  • W.H. Hauss Award on Atherosclerosis Research, German Arteriosclerosis Research Society (1995)

Anatol Kreitzer, PhD

  • IACM Award for Young Researchers (2011)
  • Society for Neuroscience Young Investigator Award (2011)
  • McKnight Scholar Award (2010)
  • Pew Scholar in Biomedical Sciences (2008)

Robert W. Mahley, MD, PhD

  • 24th Annual Robert J. and Claire Pasarow Foundation Award in Cardiovascular Disease (2012)
  • Salute to Excellence Award, American Liver Foundation (2011)
  • Distinguished Scientist Award, American Heart Association (2011)
  • Builders of Science Award, Research!America (2010)
  • Award for Lifetime Achievement in Mentorship, Gladstone Postdoctoral Fellows (2009)
  • Outstanding Achievement Award for Contributing to Atherosclerosis Research, International Symposium on Atherosclerosis (2009)
  • Elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (2007)
  • Honorary Degree of Doctor in Medicine, Maryville College (2006)
  • Received Honorary Doctor of Medicine Degree from Maryville College (2006)
  • Elected to the California Academy of Medicine (2005)
  • Elected to the Institute of Medicine (2001)
  • Distinguished Alumnus Award, Vanderbilt University (2000)
  • Elected to the National Academy of Sciences (2000)
  • Distinguished Alumnus Award, Vanderbilt University School of Medicine (2000)
  • National Cholesterol Education Program DeWitt S. Goodman Award for Basic Science Achievement (1995)
  • Honorary Degree of Doctor in Medicine, University of Göteborg, Sweden (1995)
  • MetLife Award for Medical Research in Alzheimer’s Disease, MetLife Foundation (1994)
  • CIBA-GEIGY Award in Biomedical Research (1989)
  • George Lyman Duff Memorial Lectureship, American Heart Association (1987)
  • Heinrich Wieland Prize (1982)
  • Bordon Award for Basic Medical Research, Vanderbilt University (1970)

Lennart Mucke, MD

  • MetLife Foundation Award for Medical Research (2013)
  • The American Pacesetter Award from the ARCS Foundation (2013)
  • The Kalid Iqbal Lifetime Achievement Award (2012)
  • LSU Chancellor’s Award in Neurosciences (2011)
  • Potamkin Prize for Research in Pick’s, Alzheimer’s and Related Diseases, American Academy of Neurology (2010)
  • Award for Excellence in Direct Teaching and/or Excellence in Mentoring and Advising, Haile T. Debas Academy of Medical Educators (2007)
  • The Arthur Cherkin Memorial Award, UCLA (2006)
  • MetLife Foundation Award for Medical Research (2003)
  • Zenith Award, Alzheimer’s Association (1999)

Ken Nakamura, MD, PhD

  • Burroughs Wellcome Fund Career Award for Medical Scientists (2008)
  • Steven Lukes Memorial Prize, University of Chicago (2001)

Jeanne Paz, PhD

  • Named recipient of the Michael Prize (2015)